Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Culminating Experience Resource Guide: Formatting Files for the Archives

Information for Berklee graduate students and faculty on preparing and submitting Culminating Experience projects to the Berklee Archives. Also includes additional academic writing and research resources from the Library.

Contents

Home

 

Archives, Institutional Repositories, and Open Access

 

Culminating Experience Deadlines

 

Formatting Files for the Archives

Allowed file formats and required file-naming guidelines for submissions to the Archives

 

Resources for Students

 

Resources for Program Directors and Advisors 

 

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

 

Writing and Research Resources

Formatting Your Files

As is typical in graduate education, submissions to Berklee's institutional repository must be in compliance with specified formatting standards.

 

All Culminating Experience submissions must follow Berklee Archives' requirements for file types and file names, outlined below. 

 


Upload limits: 

 

  • Maximum number of project files: 15
  • Maximum individual file size: 10GB 
     

Contact archives@berklee.edu if you need special exemption from these limits

Print Documents:
Examples: Reflection papers, thesis, distribution agreement forms, original scores, consulting projects, promotional packages, soundtrack analyses

Requirements:
      - Saved as PDF (multi-page PDF is acceptable)

Scanned Documents and Exported Notation Documents (Finale, Sibelius, Notion, etc.) should be:
      - Between 8-bit and 24-bit at 300 dpi or higher
      - Minimum of 1,280 pixels (for the smallest side)
      - Saved as TIFF then saved as PDF

 

REMINDER: Berklee Archives does not preserve but will collect video recordings and/or slides of your CE presentation/defense. 
 

Video Files:
Examples: Performances, visual presentation with embedded audio  

Requirements: 
      - Saved as MP4 or M4V video file
      - 16:9 video with 720p60 H.264 @ 800kbps or higher
      - AAC at 48 kHz audio

 

Audio Files:
Examples: Performances

Requirements: 
      - Saved as WAV or AIFF audio file
      - 16-bit / 44.1 kHz or higher PCM format

 

Other Files:
Examples: Software, apps, sound design patch files (such as an “Max/MSP patch”) 

Requirements
      - Compress into ZIP file
Important: Audio, video or print files should NOT be packaged as ZIP files. Use the above guidelines for these formats.

 

REMINDER: Berklee Archives does not preserve but will collect video recordings and/or slides of your CE presentation/defense.

 

All files should be named as follows:
year-XX695-studentusername-optionaldescriptor.extension

 

  • Note the order of file naming elements: year of submission, course number, your username, optional descriptive suffix
     

  • You must use hyphens to separate the elements of the file name. No other punctuation is accepted. 

 

Example: For a Berklee Online business student with a username of jsmith1:      2020-OMBUS695-jsmith1.PDF


ADDITIONAL EXAMPLES
 

Examples for a contemporary performance student with a username of jsmith1: 

 

  • 2020-PS695-jsmith1-casestudy.PDF

  • 2020-PS695-jsmith1-score.PDF

  • 2020-PS695-jsmith1-reflectivepaper.PDF

  • 2020-PS695-jsmith1-agreeementform.PDF

 

Examples for a film scoring student with a username of jsmith1:    

 

  • 2020-FS695-jsmith1-compositiontitle1.WAV

  • 2020-FS695-jsmith1-compositiontitle2.WAV

  • 2020-FS695-jsmith1-agreeementform.PDF

 

Examples for a music production, technology, innovation student with a username of jsmith1: 

 

  • 2020-MTI695-jsmith1-app1files.zip.

  • 2020-MTI695-jsmith1-.app2files.zip

  • 2020-MTI695-jsmith1-agreeementform.PDF

 

 

Important: Descriptor suffixes may include additional hyphens or underscores, but should not contain any other punctuation

 

Explanation of Requirements

Berklee Archives can only process and preserve certain file types. If a file type is not addressed below, we cannot accept it due to proprietary restrictions or preservation standards. Similarly, Berklee Archives requires a specific file-naming structure to ensure your files are properly preserved and processed. 
 

Your submission will NOT be approved if it does not follow these requirements. 
 

If you have questions about accepted formats or how to name your files, email archives@berklee.edu

Reformatting Assistance

If you submitted your files to your advisor in file types not listed on this page (such as .mp3, .mov, .ppt, .jpg, .doc, etc.) , you will need to reformat for your final submission to the archives.
 

For assistance reformatting your content into archives-approved formats, contact atvalencia@berklee.edu (Valencia students) or request a Peer Training session (Boston/Online students) from the Library.