LibGuides: LENG-111 (Chwalibog): Home

More help

English Literature
by Judith S. Pinnolis Last Updated May 27, 2022 40 views this year

English Writing Tutoring
One-on-one writing assistance with a tutor, located at 7 Haviland St., Room 110. Email writingcenter@berklee.edu.

Instructional Design & Liaison Librarian

Stacey Snyder

Email Me

Contact:

Stan Getz Library
150 Massachusetts Avenue, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02215

Make a copy of these activities to your Google Drive from the "File" menu so you can edit it for your own work.

Presearch
Pre-research your topic using general resources to get a broad sense of the issues. This helps you determine if there is enough information on it and identify areas to narrow or focus your topic.
Keywords Activity
Get the most out of your search results with a keyword searching exercise.
Your Paper is a Project
A step-by-step introduction to the paper-writing process.

Finding Sources

Scholarly/peer-reviewed articles
News & Interviews

Research-based articles written by academics and reviewed by fellow scholars provide credible analysis.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary, full text database designed for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for many academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be the one-stop shop for users of open access journals.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
For social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
A premier database for research in all the academic disciplines, it offers balanced coverage of every academic concentration -- from advertising and microbiology to history and women's studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a database with both scholarly eBooks from University presses and scholarly societies in a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences.

News resources and interviews can include primary sources of information to learn about how something was reported in real time.

Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context is built on a foundation of 600,000 authoritative biographies spanning centuries and continents. 50,000 new and/ or updated biographies are added each year, as well as daily status updates of existing subjects. Full-text newspapers, journals and periodicals: New York Times, African American Review, Presidential Studies Quarterly and many more.
Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Major daily newspaper covering Boston, New England and the world. Detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Full-text coverage from 1980.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the New York Times. Coverage from 1995-present.

LENG-111 (Chwalibog): Home

More help

Instructional Design & Liaison Librarian

Planning and Brainstorming

Finding Sources

disabling anchors