Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Autism : understanding the puzzle by
Call Number: RJ506.A9 J671 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This book gives you clear and simple explanations of Autism Spectrum Disorder. You will find it very helpful as a quick reference to answer your questions and as a resource to share with family or friends. Whether the subject of autism is new to you, or whether you are experienced in helping someone who is affected by it, this book will help you better understand autism's puzzle.
Music Helps Autism by
Call Number: ML3920 .R54 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Denie Riggs has written Music Helps Autism after teaching piano for nearly 50 years, as well as writing Early Childhood Music(R), a faith-based, non-traditional approach to the piano, and Music4Me, a program for children with special needs. Riggs has successfully taught many students with autism with astounding musical and non-musical benefits. In Music Helps Autism, Riggs shares her techniques, tips and ideas to encourage parents, teachers and other professionals to transform the lives of those around them. Your hope will be reborn as Music Helps Autism gives you tools to begin to apply the incredible power of music to your child's life with a multifaceted approach that works.
Perfect Pitch in the Key of Autism by
Call Number: ML3920 .K89 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-30
By focusing on the abilities rather than the deficits of people with learning, perceptual, motor, and other differences, Kupferstein and Rancer have developed a revolutionary piano pedagogy that will empower individuals with autism and other differences by unleashing the power of what can be done.
Art as an Early Intervention Tool for Children with Autism by
Call Number: RJ506.A9 M3756 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-15
Art as an Early Intervention Tool for Children with Autism includes practical advice on helping a child move beyond scribbling, organizing the child's environment for maximum comfort and relaxation, and providing physical and sensory support. This book is packed with tips and suggestions for how to provide art therapy for children with autism, covering topics such as the basic materials required, safety issues, how to set up a workspace, and ideas for managing difficult behavior.
Teaching Music to Students with Autism by
Call Number: ML3920 .H27 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-02
The authors focus on the diagnosis of autism, advocating for students and music programs, and creating and maintaining a team approach when working with colleagues. A significant portion of the book is focused on understanding the communication, cognition, behavior, sensory, and socialization challenges inherent in working with students with autism. The authors suggest ways to structure classroom experiences and learning opportunities for all students. Vignettes and classroom snapshots from experienced teachers provide additional opportunities to transfer theory to real-life application.
Exceptional Music Pedagogy for Children with Exceptionalities by
Call Number: MT17 .E94 2016
Publication Date: 2015-11-20
Volume editors Deborah Vander Linde Blair and Kimberly McCord have assembled here a diverse and international set of teachers and researchers. Each working outward from their own national perspectives, the chapter authors explore the histories of legislative initiatives, discuss the implementation of both mandates and teacher led creative strategies,and provide a vast array of pedagogical suggestions and scenarios that support teachers and communities who work with students with disabilities. Featuring chapters from a global set of education communities, the authors represent a wide range of pedagogical approaches for learners in a variety of contexts. This book is an important, expansive collection of practical expertise, and an invaluable resource to the special music education community across the globe.
Spotlight on Making Music with Special Learners by
Call Number: MT17 .S68 2007
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Presents articles from state journals that give music teachers ideas on how to include special needs students, offer suggestions for dealing with specific types of special needs students, and address teachers' responsibilities and support under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).
Autism : Explaining the Enigma by
Call Number: RJ506.A9 F695 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-28
The updated edition of this classic account of autism includes a new chapter outlining recent developments in neuropsychological research, and overviews one of the most important theoretical and practical consequences of Frith's original insights into this puzzling condition. Updated edition of this classic account of autism. Includes new sections covering practical and theoretical developments, and a chapter on recent investigations of the neurological basis of psychological impairments in autism. Accessible to a broad general readership.
Experiencing Music Composition in Grades 3-5 by
Call Number: MT40 .K277 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-15
Experiencing Music Composition in Grades 3-5 is a practical guide to new, innovative, and natural composition techniques for young composers. Music Educators Michele Kaschub and Janice Smith bring a wealth of experience to bear a unique and thoughtfully curated series of materials that helpteachers connect music education to young composers' everyday emotions and activities.
Remixing the Classroom by
Call Number: MT1 .A5 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-27
In a delightfully self-conscious philosophical "mash-up," Randall Everett Allsup provides alternatives for the traditional master-apprentice teaching model that has characterized music education. By providing examples across the arts and humanities, Allsup promotes a vision of education that is open, changing, and adventurous at heart.
Urban Music Education by
Call Number: eBook (physical book: MT1 .F49 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-05-08
The prevailing discourse surrounding urban music education suggests the deficit-laden notion that urban school settings are "less than," rather than "different than," their counterparts. Through the lens of contextually-specific teaching, this book provides a counternarrative on urban musiceducation that encourages urban music teachers to focus on the strengths of their students as their primary resource.
Promising Practices in 21st Century Music Teacher Education by
Call Number: MT1 .P792 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
This book surveys emerging music and education landscapes to present a sampling of the promising practices of music teacher education that may serve as new models for the 21st century.
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning by
Call Number: MT1 .M444 2011 v.2
Publication Date: 2011-11-23
The MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning, Volume 1: Strategies brings together the best and most current research on methods for music learning, focusing squarely on the profession's empirical and conceptual knowledge of how students gain competence in music at various ages and indifferent contexts. The collection of chapters, written by the foremost figures active in the field, takes a broad theoretical perspective on current, critical areas of research, including music development, music listening and reading, motivation and self-regulated learning in music, musicperception, and movement. The book's companion volume, Applications, builds an extensive and solid position of practice upon the frameworks and research presented here.Throughout both volumes in this essential set, focus is placed on the musical knowledge and musical skills needed to perform, create, understand, reflect on, enjoy, value, and respond to music. A key point of emphasis rests on the relationship between music learning and finding meaning in music, andas music technology plays an increasingly important role in learning today, chapters move beyond exclusively formal classroom instruction into other forms of systematic learning and informal instruction.