Culminating Experience Resource Guide: Jazz Research Resources

Online open access journal designed to publish peer-reviewed articles of original jazz research and provides an outlet for detailed writing about jazz that is rooted in scholarly rigor and is not compromised by commercial interests.

Jazz Studies Online (JSO) brings together a rich and varied collection of digital resources - journal articles, books and book chapters, video and audio, teaching materials, and an extensive index of outside resources. The interactive archives is designed for use by jazz scholars, musicians, educators, journalists, and dedicated fans.

Transcriptions and recordings of oral histories of NEA Jazz Masters are part of the Smithsonian Jazz Oral History Program in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts.

The BOHP is devoted to documenting the lives of musicians who have made significant contributions to the music world as well as the Berklee College of Music community. In short, the BOHP aims to chronicle the rich and diverse history of Berklee and Boston music from those who have lived, shaped and defined it.

The National Jazz Museum in Harlem, a Smithsonian Affiliate, is home to the widely acclaimed Savory Collection, which includes more than 100 hours of live recordings of jazz legends made from New York City radio broadcasts aired between 1935 and 1941.

The Fillius Jazz Archive holds a collection of videotaped interviews with jazz musicians, arrangers, writers and critics. The collection generally focuses on artists associated with mainstream jazz and the swing era. Former members of bands led by Count Basie, Duke Ellington, Woody Herman, Benny Goodman, Stan Kenton and the Dorsey brothers are well represented.

WPI’s Jazz History Database has been in existence for more than 20 years and has continued to grow in size and scope offering an easily accessed repository and archive of materials related to the history of jazz. The database focuses primarily on interviews and documents related to jazz musicians in the New England area and most of their content is fully accessible online.