LibGuides: LENG-111: Protest Song Papers: Home

More help

English Literature
by Judith S. Pinnolis Last Updated May 27, 2022 37 views this year
Songwriting
by Stacey Snyder Last Updated Oct 4, 2023 90 views this year

English Writing Tutoring
One-on-one writing assistance with a tutor, located at 7 Haviland St., Room 110. Email writingcenter@berklee.edu.

Instructional Design & Liaison Librarian

Stacey Snyder

Email Me

Contact:

Stan Getz Library
150 Massachusetts Avenue, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02215

Finding Sources

All Music This link opens in a new window
AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about albums, bands, musicians and songs. It includes exhaustive discographies supplemented with reviews, biographies, sound samples and other information about audio releases.

Genius.com
Community-driven platform for annotating song lyrics. Though it primarily includes rap and hip-hop music, it has expanded to include more genres.

Hit Songs Deconstructed This link opens in a new window
Provides its subscribers with an in-depth understanding of the craft and trends that shape today's chart-topping hits for success in today's music industry. This search features over 200 criteria enabling highly customizable and comparative searches based on compositional characteristics, production techniques and more.
Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
African American Music Reference brings together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Music Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Wikipedia list of protest songs
A list of over 400 protest song titles and subjects covered by protest songs.

Encyclopedias, textbooks, and reference databases summarize background information on historical events and established facts about controversial issues.

Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue.
Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
Popular Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative yet irresistible digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present, in a package as dynamic as the topic it covers. Built on hundreds of award-winning titles for all levels of researchers.

Research-based articles written by academics and reviewed by fellow scholars provide credible analysis behind different viewpoints on a deeper level.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary, full text database designed for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for many academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
For social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a database with both scholarly eBooks from University presses and scholarly societies in a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism will gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.

News resources and interviews can include primary sources of information to learn about how something was reported in real time.

Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context is built on a foundation of 600,000 authoritative biographies spanning centuries and continents. 50,000 new and/ or updated biographies are added each year, as well as daily status updates of existing subjects. Full-text newspapers, journals and periodicals: New York Times, African American Review, Presidential Studies Quarterly and many more.
Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Major daily newspaper covering Boston, New England and the world. Detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Full-text coverage from 1980.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the New York Times. Coverage from 1995-present.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Growing collection of over 25,000 reviews, articles, and interviews from publications such as Rolling Stone, Creem, and Billboard as well as audio interviews with Joni Mitchell, Mick Jagger, and more. From Abba to Zappa, this is the largest online resource for rock journalism.

Purdue OWL Song Citation
Scroll down or "command+f" to "song"